FIELD II COLLECTIVE

Figurative Modelling (click to view PDF of powerpoint)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The body and the natural world are probably the two most important subject areas in my work. Whenever I’m given a project, I usually try and relate it to one of the two. I’m most interested in these areas so I know that I’ll be more passionate about a project if that’s what I’m focusing on. My first field was about the natural world, so having the second field being focused on the body was a really pleasing balance of interests.

A bulk of this field was life drawing, which I have always extremely enjoyed and I feel is one of my strengths. I hadn’t done any life drawing since I was on my foundation course, so it was really refreshing to be able to take part in some life drawing sessions for this project. We worked in a range of materials, and for a range of times, varying from only a minute or two to the longest being 15 minutes. Working quickly like this really improves my confidence in drawing. When you only have a short amount of time to get something down onto paper, you don’t have time to dwell on ‘mistakes’, and you just have to keep moving forward with the drawing.

Working with clay was also something I was really keen on doing. I really enjoy ceramics but I barely ever get a chance to actually work with it, which was one of the main reasons I wanted to do this field option. From the various methods of clay building we did, my favourite was this sort of dress pattern method shown to us by Natasha Mayo, where we built a pair of legs and the bottom half of a torso. Being able to work on something that more accurately represents what it was supposed to be is more of what I’m interested in doing, rather than the sort of abstract outcomes that came from a slip casting work shop that we did.

Part of this field was based on group work, although it wasn’t as heavy on the group work as I thought it would be, which I was glad about. After field in the first year, I am really not a fan of group work when it comes to working on a project with other people. We had to collaborate on blog posts each week, which we mostly did. We more just ended up sharing pictures that were taken, rather than writing blog posts together, but I found that much more helpful. We also collaborated when it came to displaying all the work we had created at the end of the project. As a group we generally agreed on how it should be displayed. We created a minimal but effective display, where we all had work in display, without it becoming cluttered. We wanted the display to speak about the way the body moves and bends and strains, so we selected the pieces of work that we thought most effectively portrayed that.

Group artist statement:

Focusing on how material can help enhance or create its own narrative, our exhibition represents sensorial states of the body through the set environment. The work expresses several states of the body, both figuratively and as the material: the creasing of flesh, cracked skin, skin pulled tight, weight and compression. Whilst emphasising our understanding of the feeling of embodiment, our work portrays the effects of various techniques which manipulates the transition and boundaries between two dimensional and three dimensional mediums. It exposes the possibilities of allowing the material to speak for itself and explore its potential suggestions.

1 thought on “FIELD II COLLECTIVE”

Leave a Reply

