JOHN MARTIN

John Martin is responsible for what is probably my all time favourite painting. It’s called the ‘The Destruction of Pompei and Herculaneum’, and depicts the eruption of Mount Vesuvius. It is, sadly, no longer on display at the Tate Britain where I saw it a few times before it was taken down from being displayed. Its a massive painting, and the scale combined with the colours are what attracted me to it in the first place. I’m a big fan of romanticism, but this painting really stands out for me.

Martin’s use of colour and lighting in his paintings is a great interest to me. I’m still working on my work understand of lighting in my work, and I take great inspiration from Martin’s.

Leave a Reply

