MONTH OF SOMETHINGS- OUTCOME

The words I chose to put with really give the work a meaning I think. The imprints of the leaves and flowers in the plaster on their own don’t really say much, or they wouldn’t give the viewer a specific message. The words I used are from a Twenty One Pilots song called Stressed Out. I find a lot of their music very relevant to my life, but the lyrics from this song in particular were supportive of the ideas I was trying to convey in this project.

Sometimes a certain smell will take me back to when I was young,
How come I’m never able to identify where it’s coming from,
I’d make a candle out of it if I ever found it

In the song it talks about things from your childhood leaving impressions on you, that certain sensations will take you back to something that happened when you were young. Later on in the song he also talks about his brother being the only other one being able to understand what he’s experiencing, and I get the same thing with sister, like we’ll both smell something and be like ‘this smells exactly like this particular event that happened when we were younger’, but to anyone else it won’t mean the same thing to them.

That’s part of what I wanted to say with these plaster casts.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When it came to displaying them for a group tutorial, a lot of the time people didn’t actually notice the lyrics carved into the side of the plaster, or at all. When they found out the lyrics were there they said it changed how they viewed it, but it also really gave them the sense of experiences leaving an impression on you, which is what I was aiming for so I’m really pleased with that. It was really interesting to see how other people viewed the piece, and to see that the message I was trying to get across was relatively clear.

1 thought on “MONTH OF SOMETHINGS- OUTCOME”

Leave a Reply

