JMW Turner

Turner, as has been the case for the last two years, has been a huge point of inspiration for me. With vivid use of colour and light in his work throughout his life, I find myself repeatedly drawn back to him. He was a key player in my dissertation, and writing it enabled me to develop a greater understanding of his work, and how it developed from the beginning of his career to the end. There is a big difference between his early work, where he uses clean, intricate detail, and work from his later years which uses such fluid, expressive marks that they are considered pre-impressionism.

I use his work as inspiration in the hopes of capturing similar themes and elements in my own work.

18386571_10213362742609827_926505304_n

Leave a Reply

